top of page

Meds

IT'S TIME TO START TAKING THE MEDS! I was so excited to take them! I felt like this was going to work!

This might be a little bit of a TMI post but, I vowed to be real with all of you! I started with Metformin because I was supposed to take 800 mg twice a day and there were no restrictions on specific days for it to be taken. So, being a rule follower I started taking Metformin at dinner, the night it was prescribed, because it is supposed be taken with food or milk. This should have been my fair warning! Metformin is a med straight from the devil. (Was that a little too dramatic? I have a tendancy to be dramatic. Side note: did you know that when an octopus is stressed out it eats itself?! At least I'm not that dramatic!) Within an hour of taking it, my stomach started cramping and I had to run, not walk, to the bathroom. Of course, being the google-er I am, and with the time I had while sitting there, I looked up side effects. Number one on the list was.... Abdominal or stomach discomfort. I felt like they could have better described it as "demon stomach pains". These side effects lasted for the majority of the time I was prescribed Metformin. I was absolutely miserable! The second I thought about eating, my stomach would cramp. Going out of the house was a risk I didn't want to take. I wanted to be able to use my bathroom at my house, with no people around. It was that bad. I was not prepared for Metformin. My excitement went down hill, really fast!

 

Then came day 4 of my cycle. It was time to add Clomid into the mix. After the experience I had with Metformin for the first couple of weeks, I was not too thrilled about the side effects Clomid could bring, BUT... I was excited at the possibility of what Clomid could do! Of course, I wanted to be prepared for the new medicine and not blind-sided. The side effects were listed as: Hot flashes, breast discomfort, dizziness or lightheadedness, headache, heavy menstrual periods or bleeding between periods, depression, nausea or vomiting and nervousness. I remembered reading the suggestion to take Clomid at night so that if you had hot flashes you could just throw your covers off of you and go back to sleep. Day one of Clomid was fine. No side effects that I noticed. After all, the side effects of Metformin ruled my life. Day 2 of Clomid, I started noticing the side effects. The ones from the list that I noticed were hot flashes, headaches and I would cry a lot more. I wouldn't chalk it up up to depression though. Shout out to those of you who have hot flashes. They are super annoying! I was great about taking my meds at the same time everyday. I even had the alarm on my phone with the title "PILLS!" I would cry randomly on Clomid just because of the sheer stress I felt in hopes of it working.

Now that I was taking all the meds, I would need to know when we needed to do the deed; ya know... hanky panky, bumpin' uglies, knockin' boots, going to the boneyard, horizontal tango, doing the nasty, whatever you want to call it. So, I jumped in my car and drove down to the local Wally World and bought a pack of Answer Ovulation Tests. Can we come in close really quickly to talk about how I feel buying ovulation tests? I've needed to buy several packs of these ovulations tests, and every time the person was like, "OMG are you trying to get pregnant?! That is so exciting!!! Good luck!" I will speak for myself, I don't need you to acknowledge me buying this. Just scan it, throw it in the bag and let's talk about the weather. Anyway, I bought my tests and went home. They were on the counter in the bathroom, taunting me every morning. The brand I got was not easy to read. I took out the instructions and they looked like it would be easy to tell (I have the picture of an example of the instructions. These probably weren't the exact ones, just a visual). I learned that the hard way. I had to decipher whether the line was dark enough to really tell if it was positive or negative. When I thought it was positive, I would text Jeremy six words. We have to have sex tonight.

Now what? Patiently waiting, again...


bottom of page