top of page

Surgery Update


The last blog, I discussed scheduling surgery in late August. Well, here is the update... Jeremy did the required work to get his TDY date for late August. They told him he would leave August 21st for a couple weeks. About a week later, I asked Jeremy to make sure that was set in stone so that I could schedule the surgery date. He walked in to talk to the person in charge of scheduling trainings and she told him that his spot was given away to someone else. I ALMOST LOST MY MIND. She then told him that she would "try" to get him the September slot. Just a little inside info if you aren't familiar with the military, try means... not likely. We were annoyed but we know what military life is like... Have plan A, B, C, D and sometimes E. After all, what was one more month?

While Jeremy was on leave and we were in Arkansas, Jeremy gets a text from his supervisor telling him that his date has now been moved to October. Insert eye roll... So, instead of surgery in a couple weeks, it's now a couple months if we were to go with the plan of having the surgery while Jeremy is gone. Of course, I'm pissed off at this news. I was ready to move on to the next step and again, it was going to be delayed.

I called up to see if I could go ahead and schedule the surgery because we were sick of waiting on the AF to get their shit together but Jennifer, the receptionist, wanted me to schedule an appointment to talk with Dr. McFadden. We scheduled the appointment for July 24th, two days after getting back from Arkansas and Texas. We go in and discuss everything I have said previously and he asks me, "What do you want to do? Do you want to wait until October and just keep taking the meds or go ahead with surgery?" I obviously opted to go ahead with surgery and Dr. McFadden was 110% behind my decision. Before leaving the appointment, Dr. McFadden told me that he would pass off my chart to his office staff and someone would be getting back to me about scheduling the surgery. (If you are wondering what surgery I'm talking about, click HERE!)

On July 30th I get a call from Dr. McFadden's office to discuss what was covered through insurance and the "worst case scenario"for the price that would come out of pocket. Remember military insurance covers ZERO cost if it is related to infertility. She asked if we were financially able to pay because if not we would need to revisit the plan. I told her we were ok with the cost and she passed off my chart to Jennifer for scheduling.

Yesterday, August 1st, Jennifer called and said, "I have your surgery date."Jeremy and I had discussed dates that didn't work due to something going on, on base Aug 10th-12th that he HAS to be there for. Well, Jennifer says, "Hopefully this isn't too soon but I have you down for next Thursday, Aug 9th at 0800." I wasn't prepared for such a quick date but I am also pretty excited about some hopeful answers. Here is the catch, Jeremy supervisor is AMAZING and told him to take the 9th and 10th off but he HAS to be on base the 11th and 12th ALL DAY. Luckily, I have my mom coming up to ease our minds to be here with me while Jeremy is on base all day.

So..... HERE WE GO! My research is in full swing. I have a list of things that have been suggested to me in my Military Infertility FB group to make the recovery easier on me. How am I feeling? Well, I had a minor melt down last night. I feel like there was so much leading up to this that I just broke last night. I cried to Jeremy about the unknown, even though I have had people tell me "it isn't a big deal... it's a minor surgery... it's not that bad". It's not the actual surgery that is all that is on my mind. There are a whole lot of answers that can come from this. This surgery might be the answer to the possibility of getting pregnant and carry a child. Do you feel the gravity of that? It's the weight of a ton of bricks on my emotions and sometimes I break. I'm human.

For my praying friends, I appreciate them. For my good vibe friends, send them my way. For my 'I have a friend who did this and it was amazing and successful and she has 10 kids now', keep it to yourself. :)


bottom of page